LUNAR CALENDAR FOR JANUARY 2014.

LUNAR CALENDAR FOR JANUARY 2014.

LUNAR CALENDAR FOR JANUARY 2014.

Photo Credit: ME – Information on this month’s lunar phases, conjunctions, Quadrantids & Isonids Meteor showers, the black moons, etc. and NASA’s Lunar Phase video below……check it out!
WERE YOU BORN ON A FULL MOON?! This great page from Moon Giant shows you what phase the Moon was in when you were born; check it out: http://www.moongiant.com/birthday_moon/

JANUARY 1st (Wed) – Entering the month the Moon is 0 days old in its 29.53 day Synodic Cycle and 01% illuminated in its waning crescent phase.

JANUARY 1st (Wed) – New Moon (LUNATION 1126) occurs at 1115 UTC (0615 EST).

JANUARY 1st (Wed) – PERIGEE MOON occurs at 2101 UTC (1601 EST) and is when the Moon is at its closest point to Earth in its orbit. It will be subtending at 33’arc minutes from a distance of 356,921 km (221,780 mi).

JANUARY 1st – 10th QUADRANTIDS Meteor Shower: radiating from the extinct constellation of Quadrant just above the head of Bootes; the Quadrantids meteor shower peak this month on the night of January 2nd and the morning of January 3rd though you may see them a few nights to either side. This year were looking at a peak rate of only about 25 per hour and the Moons role will be minimal as peak night/morning will land on a Moon just recovering from NEW at only about 5% illuminated.
Do you know why meteor shower viewing is best just before sunrise? If you view the solar system from the top, planets orbit the Sun in a counter clockwise motion, we also rotate in a counter clockwise motion. That means just before sunrise the Earth is pointed in the direction of travel of the Earth itself and meteors are mere “bugs (Or if you prefer; “snowflakes”) hitting the windshield” of Spaceship Earth. For information on the major Meteor Showers of 2013 check my write up: http://danspace77.com/2013-meteor-showers/

JANUARY (Wed) 1st through JANUARY 5th (Sun)– As of December 28th we were on the verge of the New Moon (Lunation 1126), this week presents nights that are the absolute BEST nights to get out and observe Deep Sky Objects (DSOs) because you won’t have to look through the spotlight that is the Moon. Night skies without the Moon are significantly more productive for viewing and photography ANY night sky object (besides the Moon itself of course). For the lucky ones, this week offers the amazing spectacle of the extreme Crescent Moon, both waning in the east & waxing in the west.

JANUARY 8th (Wed) – FIRST QUARTER MOON is the Moon watchers paradise. Occurring at 0340 UTC (2240 EST on the 7th), First Quarter Moons and the waxing crescent phase leading up to it offer some of the most visually stunning views the Moon has to offer. Most of us will take the beautiful curves, valleys and shadows of a 1st Quarter Moon over a Full Moon ANY day.

JANUARY 8th (Wed) – LUNAR-X also known as the PURBACH or WERNER CROSS is scheduled to reach a fully formed “X” at 1600 UTC (1100 EST). The Lunar-X is the big, more prominent brother to the Curtiss Cross. This “X” is created by the effect of shadows along rims and ridges of craters LaCaille, Blanchinus and Purbach. The “X” formations occur along the Terminator (where “day” meets “night” along the Moon).

JANUARY 9th (Thu) – MAGINUS SUNRISE RAY will occur at 1410 UTC (0910 EST). At the right times and as the Sun rises over the Crater Maginus (Near the terminator) a beautiful sun ray shines through a break in the craters eastern wall. The result is a vast triangle or “V” formation of light cast upon the crater floor for a period of a few hours. Maginus Crater (Named after Italian astronomer Giovanni Antonio Magini) is a pre-Nectarian impact crater located in the southern lunar highlands and to the south east of Tycho Crater. It’s 110 miles (177km.) and has been extremely eroded by subsequent impacts on or near the site through the millennia. Its selenographic coordinates (Definition below) are Latitude: 50.5°S / Longitude: 6.3°W.

JANUARY 09th (Thu) – The Moon is at Descending Node.

JANUARY 10th – 15th ISONIDS Meteor Shower: Don’t get too excited about this one as it looks like the speed and size of the particles from Comet ISON may not allow for a shower at all. In the event they do create some excitement, here’s a small forecast just keep in mind, little to nothing is known so the data may not be accurate at all. The ISONIDS meteor shower peak on the night of January 12th and the morning of January 13th though you may see them a few nights to either side. Peak rate and radiant points are unknown but the Moons role will be significant as peak night/morning will land on a near Full Moon which will be 90% illuminated. I suppose for this one it’s a wait and see kind of event.
Do you know why meteor shower viewing is best just before sunrise? If you view the solar system from the top, planets orbit the Sun in a counter clockwise motion, we also rotate in a counter clockwise motion. That means just before sunrise the Earth is pointed in the direction of travel of the Earth itself and meteors are mere “bugs (Or if you prefer; “snowflakes”) hitting the windshield” of Spaceship Earth. For information on the major Meteor Showers of 2013 check my write up: http://danspace77.com/2013-meteor-showers/

JANUARY 13th (Mon) – The Moon is at its Greatest Northern Declination of +19.3 degrees.

JANUARY 16th (Thu) – The Full Moon will occur at 0453 UTC (2353 EST on the 15th). THE FULL WOLF MOON = Amid the cold and deep snows of midwinter, the wolf packs howled hungrily outside Indian villages. Thus, the name for January’s full Moon. Sometimes it was also referred to as the Old Moon, or the Moon After Yule. Some called it the Full Snow Moon, but most tribes applied that name to the next Moon.

JANUARY 16th (Thu) – APOGEE MOON occurs this month at 0154 UTC (2054 EST on the 15th) where the Moon is at its furthest point from Earth in its current orbit and will be subtending at 29’ arc minutes from a distance of 406,536 km (252,610 mi).

JANUARY 23rd (Thu) – The brilliant Walther Sunset Ray will occur at 0942 UTC (0442 EST). Located in the ancient 145 kilometer (90 mile) Necterian age crater named Walther (Formerly Walter or Valtherus) is a special treat that occurs monthly for a matter of a few hours. On the western rim of the crater there’s a notch and when the Sun is setting low on the lunar horizon (When the crater is near the terminator) light penetrates the notch, creating a vast triangle or “V” shaped light ray across the craters floor that ends as it illuminates the central peak of the crater. Walther Crater a heavily eroded crater located in the Lunar Southern Highlands at the Selenographic Coordinates (Definition below) of Latitude: 33.1°S / Longitude: 1.0°E. It’s named after German astronomer Bernhard Walther. This crater also has a sunrise ray that instead of a light ray is a long shadow cast by the central peak.

JANUARY 24th (Fri) – Last Quarter Moon occurs this month at 0521 UTC (0021 EST).

JANUARY 24th (Fri) – The CURTISS CROSS, a shadowing effect along craters Gambart and Parry which create an “X” shaped formation and will occur at 1730 UTC (1230 EST).

JANUARY 24th (Fri) – The Moon is at Ascending Node.

JANUARY 26th (Sun) – FEBRUARY 4th (Tue) As of the 26th we are on the verge of the January New Moon (Lunation 1127), this week presents nights that are the absolute BEST nights to get out and observe Deep Sky Objects (DSOs) because you won’t have to look through the spotlight that is the Moon. Night skies without the Moon are significantly more productive for viewing and photography ANY night sky object (besides the Moon itself of course). For the lucky ones, this week offers the amazing spectacle of the extreme Crescent Moon, both waning in the east & waxing in the west.

JANUARY 27th (Mon) – The Moon is at its Greatest Southern Declination of -19.2 degrees.

JANUARY 30th (Thu) – New Moon (LUNATION 1127) occurs at 2140 UTC (1640 EST). This; the Dark Moon is second New Moon in a single calendar month.

JANUARY 30th (Thu) – PERIGEE MOON occurs at 0959 UTC (0459 EST) and is when the Moon is at its closest point to Earth in its orbit. It will be subtending at 33’arc minutes from a distance of 357,079 km (221,878 mi).

JANUARY 31st (Fri) – Leaving the month the Moon is 1 day old in its 29.53 day Lunar Cycle and 01% illuminated in its waxing crescent phase.

***Definition of LIBRATION (basically) – Is an oscillation of an orbiting body relative to another. OK, so…We know the Earth/Moon system is tidally locked so we always see the same side of the moon. Due to libration, we ACTUALLY see about 60% of the Moon instead of what you may intuitively think of as a 50% measurement. That’s because the Moon oscillates slightly as it rotates and orbits Earth. So, on occasion and with a keen eye we can see a little further “around the corner” north, south, east and west on the moon by a couple degrees.

***SUBTENDING Explained – Definition: The angle formed by an object at a given external point. The moon subtends an angle of approximately 0.54° (32 arc minutes) to an observer on the Earth. Of course, the moon’s orbit is not constant or exactly circular, so this varies a little, but not by very much.
If you hold up your thumb at arm’s length, you can easily cover the full moon. This means your thumb subtends a larger angle to your eye at arm’s length than the moon does at 380,000 kilometers.
In general, the closer you are to a particular object the larger that subtending angle.

***SELENOGRAPHIC COORDINATES Defined – Selenographic coordinates are used to refer to locations on the surface of Earth’s Moon. Any position on the lunar surface can be referenced by specifying two numerical values, which are comparable to the latitude and longitude of Earth. The longitude gives the position east or west of the Moon’s prime meridian, which is the line of longitude passing through the point on the lunar surface directly facing Earth. (See also Earth’s prime meridian.) This can be thought of as the midpoint of the visible Moon as seen from the Earth. The latitude gives the position north or south of the lunar equator. Both of these coordinates are given in terms of degrees. Astronomers defined the fundamental location in the selenographic coordinate system by the small, bowl-shaped satellite crater ‘Mösting A’. The coordinates of this crater are defined as:
Latitude: 3° 12′ 43.2″ South / Longitude: 5° 12′ 39.6″ West.
The coordinate system has become precisely defined due to the Lunar Laser Ranging Experiment. Anything past 90°E or 90°W would not be seen from Earth, except for libration, which makes 59% of the Moon visible.

NASA | Moon Phase and Libration North Up 2014:

About these ads
Image | This entry was posted in "Space Junk" (Former Lunar Calendar), Astronomical Events, Astronomy (Learning), Images, News, Solar System, Video and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s