Monthly Archives: January 2013

Remembering Space Shuttle Columbia and her Crew.

STS-107 Space Shuttle (OV-102) Columbia Disaster February 1, 2003: (Photo credit: NASA) “And for the whole time I was growing up, for as long as I can remember, any time anyone asked me what I wanted to be it was, … Continue reading

Image | Posted on by | Tagged , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Remembering Space Shuttle Challenger & Crew.

Space Shuttle Challenger (Mission STS-51-L) January 28, 1986. (Photo credit: NASA) “I cannot join the space program and restart my life as an astronaut, but this opportunity to connect my abilities as an educator with my interests in history and … Continue reading

Image | Posted on by | Tagged , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Apollo 1 Crew Remembered.

Most enter the last week of January as any other. Days begin to get longer and thoughts of spring begin formulating so long as we can dodge a few more winter storms before then. Those of us who accepted the … Continue reading

Image | Posted on by | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Sea Launch on target for January 31st.

The 4th and final launch of the week will be on February 01, 2013 at 0156 EST (0656 UTC) and will come from a little known source called Sea Launch (more about that in a minute). The Russian Zenit 3SL … Continue reading

Image | Posted on by | Leave a comment

ULA, NASA, Atlas V and TDRS-K Jan 30, 2013

LAUNCH ALERT Launch 3 for the week also falls on January 30th but it’s not slated until 2048 EST (0148 UTC on the 31st). The United Launch Alliance (ULA) will be launching the very reliable Atlas5 Rocket (AV-036) in its … Continue reading

Image | Posted on by | Leave a comment

K.A.R.I. and KSLV1 Jan 30 = 3rd time a charm?

Launch number 2 on the week will hopefully come from the Nation of South Korea at 0155 EST (0655 UTC) on January 30th from NARO Space Center in South Korea. The NARO KSLV1 (Korean Space Launch Vehicle) will finally make … Continue reading

Image | Posted on by | Leave a comment

JAXA and H-IIA Poised For Launch on Jan 26

Very busy kick off week for worldwide launches in 2013. This week alone we have a possible 4 launches assuming all fly on time (which is rare). The 1st one is slated to occur at 2300 EST on Jan 26 … Continue reading

Image | Posted on by | Leave a comment