HAPPY WAVE AT SATURN DAY! ARE ALL 7.2 BILLION OF YOU DRESSED TO IMPRESS? CASSINI IS TAKING YOUR PICTURE TODAY!

HAPPY WAVE AT SATURN DAY!  ARE ALL 7.2 BILLION OF YOU DRESSED TO IMPRESS?  CASSINI IS TAKING YOUR PICTURE TODAY!

HAPPY WAVE AT SATURN DAY! ARE ALL 7.2 BILLION OF YOU DRESSED TO IMPRESS? CASSINI IS TAKING YOUR PICTURE TODAY!

Photo By: NASA/JPL Cassini Team (Links and info on the event below).

Who doesn’t remember this AMAZING photo that the Cassini Spacecraft took of Earth through the rings of Saturn on September 15, 2006. Cassini was about 500,000 miles behind Saturn, eclipsing the Sun and right there at the very outskirts of Saturn’s rings at about 9 or 10 o’clock is Earth almost a billion miles away………..

Well today is the worldwide Wave at Saturn Day or as it’s known officially “The Day The Earth Smiled”! Beginning at 2127 UTC (1727 EDT) for about fifteen minutes Cassini will be snapping our photo once again and the photo will be very similar to this one. This time will be special because it’s a planned event and anyone who sees the resulting photo will be able to say “I was outside waving and or looking at Saturn at that very moment.”

During the exposure Cassini will be about 898 million miles (1.44 billion km) from Earth. Unfortunately for North America and much of Asia, we will be in daylight but if you know where Saturn is, go give it a hello. This time Cassini will also be aiming to get the Moon in the photo as well which if it comes out clear will be a fantastic, humbling sight. If you have a Twitter account, the hashtag for the event is #DayEarthSmiled. Follow Cassini and JPL on Twitter @CassiniSaturn & @NASAJPL.

BUT WAIT THERES MORE!!!
Also today July 19, 2013 the Mercury Messenger Spacecraft will be shooting photos of Earth as well. Those will be starting at 1149 UTC (0749 EDT), 1238 UTC (0838 EDT) and 1341 UTC (0941 EDT) but it will also be shooting Earth at those same times again tomorrow (Saturday, July 20, 2013)…..AWESOME RIGHT!

The SLOOH Space Camera will be covering this event live as well, I placed the link to them below as well.

NASA/JPL Cassini – Wave at Saturn Day: http://saturn.jpl.nasa.gov/news/waveatsaturn/

NASA JPL Find Saturn page for this event: http://saturn.jpl.nasa.gov/news/waveatsaturn/viewing/

NASA JPL Times for this event: http://saturn.jpl.nasa.gov/news/waveatsaturn/timezones/

THE DAY THE EARTH SMILED: http://thedaytheearthsmiled.com/info.php

Astronomers Without Borders page on this event: http://astronomerswithoutborders.org/projects/the-day-the-earth-smiled.html

SLOOH Live Space Camera coverage of the event: http://events.slooh.com/

NASA JPL Page for the 2006 image: http://saturn.jpl.nasa.gov/photos/imagedetails/index.cfm?imageId=2314

NASA CICLOPS page for the 2006 image: http://www.ciclops.org/view_media/12499

Mercury Messenger site: http://messenger.jhuapl.edu/

The Day The Earth Smiled with Morgan Freeman:

Advertisements
Image | This entry was posted in Astronomical Events, Astrophotography (DSOs), Images, News, Solar System, Spaceflight Companies & Vehicles, Telescopes & Detection Equip., Video and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s