GREAT VIDEO OF CHANGE3 LANDING IN SINUS IRIDUM “BAY OF RAINBOWS”.

GREAT VIDEO OF CHANGE3 LANDING IN SINUS IRIDUM “BAY OF RAINBOWS”.

Video Credit: China National Space Administration (CNSA)

Just released today is the on board descent and landing video from ChangE3. ChangE3 touched down on the lunar surface in Sinus Iridum or the “Bay of Rainbows” on December 14, 2013 at 1312 UTC (0812 EST). Yutu or “Jade Rabbit” rover was successfully deployed at 2035 UTC (1535 EST).

In Chinese mythology, ChangE is the Goddess of the Moon who took an immortality pill. Yutu, the Jade Rabbit is her pet rabbit that accompanies her to the Moon. In 1969 as Apollo 11 was preparing to descend to the Moon’s surface, Houston warned the three astronauts “Watch out for the lovely girl with the big rabbit.” Michael Collins then replied “We’ll keep a close eye out for the Bunny Girl.”

Advertisements
Video | This entry was posted in News, Solar System, Spaceflight Companies & Vehicles, Video and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s