SPACE JUNK; JUNE 2014

SPACE JUNK; JUNE 2014

SPACE JUNK; JUNE 2014

Photo Credit & Copyright: ME; of an Iridium Flare off Iridium 6. I’ve revised and expanded this monthly segment from the monthly “Lunar Calendar” to “Space Junk.” Within are still all lunar phases except now I have added any other major monthly events from meteor showers to conjunctions, oppositions and points of interest. This will be a work in progress for the next few months so bear with me.
Check out NASA’s Lunar Phase & Libration video below. I have also listed all resources used to generate these monthly calendars at the bottom of the post!

WERE YOU BORN ON A FULL MOON?! This great page from Moon Giant shows you what phase the Moon was in when you were born; check it out: http://www.moongiant.com/birthday_moon/

JUNE 1st (Sun) – Entering the month the Moon is 3 days old in its 29.53 day Synodic Cycle and 14% illuminated in its waxing crescent phase.

JUNE 3rd (Tue) – APOGEE MOON occurs this month at 0426 UTC (0026 EDT) where the Moon is at its furthest point from Earth in its current orbit and will be subtending at 29’ arc minutes from a distance of 404,955 km (251,231 mi).

JUNE 5th (Thu) – LUNAR-X also known as the PURBACH or WERNER CROSS is scheduled to begin forming the “X” at 0635 UTC (0235 EDT). The Lunar-X is the big, more prominent brother to the Curtiss Cross. This “X” is created by the effect of shadows along rims and ridges of craters LaCaille, Blanchinus and Purbach. The “X” formations occur along the Terminator (where “day” meets “night” along the Moon).

JUNE 5th (Thu) – FIRST QUARTER MOON is the Moon watchers paradise. Occurring at 2040 UTC (1640 EDT), First Quarter Moons and the waxing crescent phase leading up to it offer some of the most visually stunning views the Moon has to offer. Most of us will take the beautiful curves, valleys and shadows of a 1st Quarter Moon over a Full Moon ANY day.

JUNE 6th (Fri) – MAGINUS SUNRISE RAY will occur at 0055 UTC (2055 EDT on the 5th). At the right times and as the Sun rises over the Crater Maginus (Near the terminator) a beautiful sun ray shines through a break in the craters eastern wall. The result is a vast triangle or “V” formation of light cast upon the crater floor for a period of a few hours. Maginus Crater (Named after Italian astronomer Giovanni Antonio Magini) is a pre-Nectarian impact crater located in the southern lunar highlands and to the south east of Tycho Crater. It’s 110 miles (177km.) and has been extremely eroded by subsequent impacts on or near the site through the millennia. Its selenographic coordinates (Definition below) are Latitude: 50.5°S / Longitude: 6.3°W.

JUNE 08th (Sun) – Moon/Mars conjunction as they reach about 1.5 degrees from one another at 0100 UTC (2100 EDT on the 7th or just after sunset).

JUNE 09th (Mon) – The Moon reaches Ascending Node at 0936 UTC (0536 EDT).

JUNE 12th (Thu) – Earliest sunrise of 2014 for the Northern hemisphere & latest sunrise of 2014 for the Southern hemisphere.

JUNE 13th (Fri) – The Full Moon will occur on a Friday the 13th at 0413 UTC (0013 EDT). Full Strawberry Moon: This name was universal to every Algonquin tribe. However, in Europe they called it the Rose Moon. Also because the relatively short season for harvesting strawberries comes each year during the month of June . . . so the full Moon that occurs during that month was christened for the strawberry!

JUNE 13th (Fri) – The Moon is at its Greatest Southern Declination of -19.01 degrees.

JUNE 15th (Sun) – PERIGEE MOON occurs at 0335 UTC (2335 EDT on the 14th) and is when the Moon is at its closest point to Earth in its orbit. It will be subtending at 33’arc minutes from a distance of 362,061 km (224,000 mi).

JUNE 19th (Thu) – Last Quarter Moon occurs this month at 1840 UTC (1440 EDT).

JUNE 20th (Fri) – The brilliant Walther Sunset Ray will occur at 0446 UTC (0046 EDT). Located in the ancient 145 kilometer (90 mile) Necterian age crater named Walther (Formerly Walter or Valtherus) is a special treat that occurs monthly for a matter of a few hours. On the western rim of the crater there’s a notch and when the Sun is setting low on the lunar horizon (When the crater is near the terminator) light penetrates the notch, creating a vast triangle or “V” shaped light ray across the craters floor that ends as it illuminates the central peak of the crater. Walther Crater a heavily eroded crater located in the Lunar Southern Highlands at the Selenographic Coordinates (Definition below) of Latitude: 33.1°S / Longitude: 1.0°E. It’s named after German astronomer Bernhard Walther. This crater also has a sunrise ray that instead of a light ray is a long shadow cast by the central peak.

JUNE 21st (Sat) – The CURTISS CROSS, a shadowing effect along craters Gambart and Parry which create an “X” shaped formation and will occur at 0902 UTC (0502 EDT).

JUNE 21st (Sat) – Summer Solstice (Longest Day & Highest Sun “Solar Noon”) for the Northern hemisphere & Winter Solstice (Shortest Day & Lowest Sun “Solar Noon”) for the Southern hemisphere occurs at 1051 UTC (0651 EDT). NOTE: For the Northern hemisphere for example; neither the earliest sunrise nor latest sunsets occur on the longest day of the year. The reverse is true in the Southern hemisphere.

JUNE 21st (Sat) – The Moon reaches Descending Node at 2030 UTC (1630 EDT).

JUNE 22nd (Sun) – JULY 2nd (Wed) As of the 22nd we are on the verge of June’s new moon (Lunation 1132), this week presents nights that are the absolute BEST nights to get out and observe Deep Sky Objects (DSOs) because you won’t have to look through the spotlight that is the Moon. Night skies without the Moon are significantly more productive for viewing and photography ANY night sky object (besides the Moon itself of course). For the lucky ones, this week offers the amazing spectacle of the extreme crescent moon, both waning in the east & waxing in the west.

JUNE 24th (Tue) – Thin waning crescent moon is within a couple degrees of Venus and the Pleiades. It may be too bright for Europe and the Eastern US but have a look.

JUNE 26th (Thu) – The Moon reaches its Greatest Northern Declination of +19.02 degrees.

JUNE 27th (Fri) – New Moon (LUNATION 1132) occurs at 0810 UTC (0410 EDT).

JUNE 27th (Fri) – Latest sunset of 2014 for the Northern hemisphere & earliest sunset of 2014 for the Southern hemisphere.

JUNE 30th (Mon) – APOGEE MOON once again occurs at 1911 UTC (1511 EDT) where the Moon is at its furthest point from Earth in its current orbit and will be subtending at 29’ arc minutes from a distance of 405,931 km (252,234 mi).

JUNE 30th (Mon) – Leaving the month the Moon is 3 days old in its 29.53 day Synodic Cycle and 10% illuminated in its waxing crescent phase.

***Definition of LIBRATION (basically) – Is an oscillation of an orbiting body relative to another. OK, so…We know the Earth/Moon system is tidally locked so we always see the same side of the moon. Due to libration, we ACTUALLY see about 60% of the Moon instead of what you may intuitively think of as a 50% measurement. That’s because the Moon oscillates slightly as it rotates and orbits Earth. So, on occasion and with a keen eye we can see a little further “around the corner” north, south, east and west on the moon by a couple degrees.

***SUBTENDING Explained – Definition: The angle formed by an object at a given external point. The moon subtends an angle of approximately 0.54° (32 arc minutes) to an observer on the Earth. Of course, the moon’s orbit is not constant or exactly circular, so this varies a little, but not by very much.
If you hold up your thumb at arm’s length, you can easily cover the full moon. This means your thumb subtends a larger angle to your eye at arm’s length than the moon does at 380,000 kilometers.
In general, the closer you are to a particular object the larger that subtending angle.

***SELENOGRAPHIC COORDINATES Defined – Selenographic coordinates are used to refer to locations on the surface of Earth’s Moon. Any position on the lunar surface can be referenced by specifying two numerical values, which are comparable to the latitude and longitude of Earth. The longitude gives the position east or west of the Moon’s prime meridian, which is the line of longitude passing through the point on the lunar surface directly facing Earth. (See also Earth’s prime meridian.) This can be thought of as the midpoint of the visible Moon as seen from the Earth. The latitude gives the position north or south of the lunar equator. Both of these coordinates are given in terms of degrees. Astronomers defined the fundamental location in the selenographic coordinate system by the small, bowl-shaped satellite crater ‘Mösting A’. The coordinates of this crater are defined as:
Latitude: 3° 12′ 43.2″ South / Longitude: 5° 12′ 39.6″ West.
The coordinate system has become precisely defined due to the Lunar Laser Ranging Experiment. Anything past 90°E or 90°W would not be seen from Earth, except for libration, which makes 59% of the Moon visible.

NASA | Moon Phase and Libration North Up 2014: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PKRtZ89AMts

2014 Moon phases with TIMES: http://www.calendar-12.com/moon_phases/2014

FULL YEAR of Lunar Cycles: Previous and Future years as well: http://kalender-365.de/lunar-calendar.php?yy=2014

2014 Moon phase & illumination calendar: http://www.calendar-12.com/moon_calendar/2014/june

Full & New Moon Calendar: http://www.moongiant.com/Full_Moon_New_Moon_Calendar.php

BLUE MOON Calendar: http://www.moongiant.com/Blue_Moon_Calendar.php

SUPERMOON Calendar: http://www.astropro.com/features/tables/cen21ce/suprmoon.html

2014 Perigee & Apogee DATES, TIMES & DISTANCES as well as Full & New Moon dates & times: http://www.fourmilab.ch/earthview/pacalc.html

2014 Perigee & Apogee: http://www.timeanddate.com/astronomy/moon/distance.html

Lunar Ray predictions: http://www.lunar-occultations.com/rlo/rays/rays.htm

Sun/Moon Rise & Set times: http://www.40-below.com/sunmoon/

Sun/Moon Rise & Set times for the DAY: http://aa.usno.navy.mil/data/docs/RS_OneDay.php

Sun/Moon Rise & Set times for the YEAR: http://aa.usno.navy.mil/data/docs/RS_OneYear.php

Farmer’s Almanac Full Moon Names: http://www.farmersalmanac.com/full-moon-names/

Lunar ASCENDING & DESCENDING Nodes: http://astropixels.com/ephemeris/moon/moonnodes2001.html

Greatest NORTHERN & SOUTHERN Declinations of the Moon: http://www.astropro.com/features/tables/cen21ce/mo-dcl-2014.html

Moon Phases for ANY date: http://www.moonpage.com/

NASA GODDARD Moon NOW: http://svs.gsfc.nasa.gov/vis/a000000/a004100/a004118/

Moon right NOW: http://www.calculatorcat.com/moon_phases/phasenow.php

Moon right NOW: http://www.die.net/moon/

Moon right NOW: http://www.calendar-365.com/moon/current-moon-phase.html

NASA JPL Ephemeris Calculator: http://ssd.jpl.nasa.gov/?horizons

Lunar Ephemeris Calculator: http://www.lunar-occultations.com/rlo/ephemeris.htm

Equinoxes/Solstices: http://wwp.greenwich-mean-time.eu/longest-day/

Sunrise & Sunset CHART: http://sunrisehour.com/sunrise-sunset/united_states/boston_ma

Kilometers (km) to miles (mi.) converter: http://www.metric-conversions.org/length/kilometers-to-miles.htm

Advertisements
Image | This entry was posted in Astronomical Events, Astronomy (Learning), Astrophotography (Wide Field), Images, News, Spaceflight Companies & Vehicles and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s