ISS Resupply Flight Progress 58P (Progress M-26M)

15-053

Image Credit & Copyright: Energia. Look below for mission information and links to see the launch live.

LAUNCH ALERT!!!

A Russian Soyuz-U rocket dubbed “Progress 58P” or “Progress M-26M” is slated to launch from the Baikonur Cosmodrome; Pad-1, Launcher-5 (LC-1/5) on Tuesday, February 17th at 11:00 UTC (06:00 EST) to resupply the International Space Station (ISS) with more than 2.5 tons of supplies, hardware, fuel and water. ISS Progress 58P is actually its designation through NASA & International Space Station (ISS) records; Roscosmos catalogs it as Progress M-26M.

Progress 58P/M-26M will be on the “Fast-Track” system of the 5-orbit, 6-hour launch to docking at the ISS. Upon arrival to the ISS it will be docking with the Zvezda Service Module (DOS-8 or MIR-2) which should take place at approximately 17:00 UTC (12:00 EST).

Progress Vehicle: is a Russian unmanned, automated supply ship that’s launched to the ISS on a Soyuz rocket.  Once the vehicle reaches the ISS it docks automatically to either the Zvezda Service Module or the Pirs Docking Compartment using the radar based Kurs system or the backup TORU system which is only applicable to the Zvezda module.  Progress Cargo Module can deliver 3,748 lbs. (1,700 kg) of supplies to the ISS and when its mission is complete it can also be filled with that amount of trash which is then de-orbited and subsequently incinerated in Earth’s atmosphere.  The M1 Refueling Module, depending on how much weight the Cargo Module is holding can carry up to 3,836 lbs. (1,740 kg) of fuel contained in 8 propellant tanks (4 fuel, 4 oxidizer).  This fuel can be transferred directly to the ISS’s own propulsion system or it can remain onboard and Progress itself can boost the stations altitude and change its attitude on orbit.

Launch coverage of Progress 58P/M-26M begins at 10:45 UTC (05:45 EST) on Tuesday, February 17th with docking coverage later that day kicking off at 16:30 UTC (11:30 EST).

STREAM LIVE:

NASA TV: www.nasa.gov/ntv

NASA TV UStream: http://www.ustream.tv/nasahdtv

TSENKI: http://www.tsenki.com/en/broadcast/

Energia M-26M photos & info:

http://www.energia.ru/en/iss/iss42/progress_m-26m/photo_02-15.html

http://www.energia.ru/en/iss/iss42/progress_m-26m/photo_02-14.html

Russian Federal Space Agency (ROSCOSMOS) M-26M images and info:

http://en.federalspace.ru/20378/

http://en.federalspace.ru/20376/

NASA M-26M/Progress 58P Mission info: http://www.nasa.gov/mission_pages/station/structure/elements/progress.html

Advertisements
Image | This entry was posted in Images, Launches, News, Spaceflight Companies & Vehicles and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ISS Resupply Flight Progress 58P (Progress M-26M)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s