Speedy Pacific Lunar Eclipse April 4

15-100

Image Credit & Copyright: Evan Thomas of a total lunar eclipse with Saturn to the left and Mars just above to the right over California’s Trona Pinnacles.  Map of April 4 lunar eclipse by Mr. Eclipse himself, Fred Espenak.

On the morning of Saturday April 4 those of you up early or still awake from a great night the night before will be treated to a beautiful however brief event; a total lunar eclipse.  Why do I say brief?  Well because totality is only scheduled to last about 4 or 5 minutes. In fact, this eclipse will be the shortest total lunar eclipse of the century! So if you plan to view this event plan and know where you want to be.

Although it’s not uncommon for a lunar eclipse to follow two weeks behind a solar eclipse and vice versa, this particular event (back to back total eclipses) we won’t see again until 2033 and I believe the last time it happened was back in 2003.

For those observers in the U.S., Canada, Mexico and South America you will want to find a clear view of the western horizon as the Moon will be not long from setting.  If you have a coastline, take advantage of it.

For those observers in the west; Australia, New Zealand, Japan, China etc. you will want to be looking east on the night of April 4th after sunset.

Total Eclipse Begins: 11:58 UTC (04:58 PDT) (07:58 EDT).

Total Eclipse Ends: 12:03 UTC (05:03 PDT) (08:03 EDT).

My write up on 2015 eclipses: https://danspace77.com/2015-solar-lunar-eclipses/

Even Thomas Photography: http://www.evanthomasphoto.com/

Blog: http://exploreabitmore.blogspot.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/evanthomasphoto

500px: http://500px.com/evanthomasphoto

Instagram: http://instagram.com/exploreabitmore

15-100b

Advertisements
Image | This entry was posted in Astronomical Events, Astronomy (Learning), Astrophotography (Wide Field), Eclipses (Solar & Lunar), Images, News, Solar System and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Speedy Pacific Lunar Eclipse April 4

  1. Pingback: Boxnews.us - Latest News

  2. Pingback: Space Junk: April 2015 | danspace77

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s