Extra Large Lunar Eclipse Coming in September

15-214

Illustration Credit & copyright: Time And Date (links below). Pink indicates those areas where the eclipse will be seen in its entirety. Purple indicates those areas where the eclipse will be seen already in progress when it rises or will set while in progress. White of course, indicates where the eclipse will not be visible.

It’s time for the final lunar eclipse of 2015 (And final total lunar eclipse for the U.S. until 2019.) and it occurs on the night of Sunday, September 27, 2015 and the early morning hours of Monday, September 28 2015.  For a few days, we will strip the #Eclipse hashtag away from teen love stories, cars and bubble gum and return it to the universe.

STRUCTURE & TIMELINE: All times are in Universal and Eastern U.S. time.

Penumbral Eclipse Begins: September 28, 00:11 UTC (20:11 EDT on the 27th).

Partial Eclipse Begins: September 28, 01:07 UTC (21:07 EDT on the 27th).

Total Eclipse Begins: September 28, 02:11 UTC (22:11 EDT on the 27th).

Greatest Eclipse: September 28, 02:47 UTC (22:47 EDT on the 27th).

Total Eclipse Ends: September 28, 03:23 UTC (23:23 EDT on the 27th).

Partial Eclipse Ends: September 28, 04:27 UTC (00:27 EDT on the 28th).

Penumbral Eclipse Ends: September 28, 05:22 UTC (01:22 EDT on the 28th).

WHO CAN SEE IT?: This eclipse will be visible throughout the entire Atlantic region and most of the bordering countries. The America’s, Europe, Africa, the Middle East and some of Asia will be treated to a lunar eclipse.

Observers in the Eastern U.S., all of South America, Western Europe and Western Africa will be treated to a total lunar eclipse.

GENERAL INFO: If you line in the U.S. and Canada this will be the final total lunar eclipse until January 2019 so you want to see this one!

This lunar eclipse will also be the second of three-full supermoon’s in 2015 and the biggest (closest) of the three. What’s that mean? Not a whole lot but technically it will be one of the biggest lunar eclipses you will ever see and even if you can’t truly tell the difference, it’s still pretty awesome.

The two (2) Lunar Eclipses this year also end what’s called a “Tetrad” which is four (4) consecutive Total Lunar Eclipses. There are eight (8) Tetrads in the 21st century and this one (2014/2015) is the second in the series with the next series beginning in 2032. http://eclipse.gsfc.nasa.gov/OH/OHtables/OH2014-Tab06.pdf

TimeAndDate Lunar Eclipse Info: http://www.timeanddate.com/eclipse/lunar/2015-september-28

TimeAndDate Lunar Eclipse Info (Boston): http://www.timeanddate.com/eclipse/in/usa/boston?iso=20150928

Fred Espinak aka Mr. Eclipse page for this event: http://www.mreclipse.com/MrEclipse.html

NASA Eclipses of 2014: http://eclipse.gsfc.nasa.gov/eclipse.html

Moon Giant lunar eclipse calendar: http://www.moongiant.com/Lunar_Eclipse_Calendar.php

What is a Supermoon & 2015 Dates: https://danspace77.com/whats-a-supermoon-2015-list/

2015 Eclipses: https://danspace77.com/2015-solar-lunar-eclipses/

Advertisements
Image | This entry was posted in Astronomical Events, Eclipses (Solar & Lunar), News, Solar System and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Extra Large Lunar Eclipse Coming in September

  1. Pingback: Space Junk; SEPTEMBER 2015 | DanSpace77

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s